May your trousers catch fire.

Not quite sure what to make of it, but the oath I’ve been uttering on the lines of Captain Haddock for over thirty years had exactly one hit on the internet (a.k.a. Google). I remember the day I learnt it from the long defunct “Illustrated Weekly of India.” I was waiting in a doctor’s office (probably a dentist, since the memory is so vivid) and it was in a cartoon strip.

The one hit is on a South African English Teacher’s website on a page talking about oath poems. Currently this is only accessible through Google’s cache, thanks to geocities going defunct as well.

I’ve saved it for posterity. Maybe the person who wrote the poem also read the same cartoon strip?

Just for the record the full oath was “May your trousers catch fire, you smug four eyed prune.” From Beau Peep, mid 70s.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.